Satellite Image Processing Revisited

Heard Island on Nov. 20, 2015, with image processing underway in QGIS.  Image credit: Bill Mitchell (CC-BY) with satellite imagery from USGS (EO-1 satellite, ALI instrument).
Heard Island on Nov. 20, 2015, with image processing underway in QGIS. Image credit: Bill Mitchell (CC-BY) with satellite imagery from USGS (EO-1 satellite, ALI instrument).

Following up on my earlier post about satellite image processing, I am happy to report that I have made progress in being able to process images myself! Through a fortunate combination of search terms, timing, and luck, I managed to come across two key pieces of information that I needed.

First, I found out how to make RGB images from raster data layers, such as different spectral bands on a satellite, fairly easily with QGIS. That was a big step forward from how I had been doing it previously, which was inelegant, inefficient, and only mostly worked. Stacking three layers (one each for red, green, and blue) into a virtual raster catalog was just a few clicks away (Raster | Miscellaneous | Build Virtual Raster (Catalog)).

Encouraged by the success with that project, I continued clicking around and stumbled across some mention of pan-sharpening (also pan sharpening), where a panchromatic (all-color) detector at high resolution is used to enhance the resolution of a colored image (sharpen). Alternately, you can think of it in the complementary way, where lower-resolution color data is added to a high-resolution greyscale image. So thanks to this blog post, I was able to find out what I needed to do to make that happen in QGIS (and Orfeo Toolbox).

Of course, it would be too easy for that to work. I didn’t have the Orfeo Toolbox installed which that needed, and ended up having to compile that from source code.* When the compiler finished and the program was installed, I went to tell QGIS where it was—but a bug in QGIS prevented me from entering the folder location. First, having just installed and compiled stuff, I attempted to get the latest version of QGIS and many of the tools on which QGIS relies. Being unsuccessful in making all of those and some of the compiler configuration software play nicely with each other, I eventually remembered I could get updated packages through apt-get, which gets pre-compiled binary files put out by the maintainers of Debian Linux. That solution worked, I added the folder location, and now I can have my pan-sharpened images.

Here for your viewing pleasure is my first properly pan-sharpened image: Heard Island on Nov. 20, 2015, seen in “true color” by the Advanced Land Imager (ALI) on the EO-1 satellite.** I’m not convinced it’s right, and I think the contrast needs to be brought down a bit, but I think it’s close.

Heard Island in true color on Nov. 20, 2015.  Image processing: Bill Mitchell (CC-BY) using data from USGS/EO-1.
Heard Island in true color on Nov. 20, 2015. Image processing: Bill Mitchell (CC-BY) using data from USGS (EO-1/ALI).

* Knowing how to compile software from source code is a rather handy skill.
** Emily Lakdawalla has written a great explanation of what “true color” means.

