Where on Google Earth #492

For WOGE #491, Ole showed us a Jurassic/Cretaceous endorheic basin in Argentina, where little water-erosion has taken place since the deposition of the tephra and lavas.

While the forests in WOGE #491 were petrified, the forests of WOGE #492 are still very much alive.
woge_492

Find this place on Google Earth, then post the latitude and longitude in the comments, along with a description of the geology, geography, or other interesting -ologies of the place. The first commenter to correctly identify the place will host the next WOGE (guest-hosting can be arranged). A list of previous WOGE selections is available here (kmz) and here (twitter).

7 thoughts on “Where on Google Earth #492”

  1. Well, it has been a week and there is no solution yet. I’m not sure quite what sort of hint would be useful here—it has what I felt were some fairly distinctive features—but I will point out that the north arrow does not point up!

    If you tell me what observations and inferences you have made, I might be able to give a better hint (see WoGE 482 for an example of what I mean).

    Like

  2. 12°52’34.50″N, 92°46’51.50″E
    Andaman Islands, Indian Sea.

    The strange conjunction between the N/S-trending ridges with heavy forest cover and what seemed to be a fairly large river confused me. But it’s not a large river, it i s the channel separating North Andaman Island from Middle Andaman Island – which explains the curiously low sediment load compared to what you would expect from a major river in a tropical climate. The “river” in thesouth (left side) is half river, half tidal channel, but anyway points to wet tropical climate.

    The ridges are in the “Archipelago Group” of Miocene-Pliocene interbedded tuffs and clastics, the flat area is the Mithakari Group of sicaceous clastics.
    The whole island group is a continuation of the Burmese coastal range.

    Like

    1. This was written in a hurry between two meetings, as is evident from the spelling. 🙂
      Since I have full access to a lot of journals at work, I used http://jgs.lyellcollection.org/content/168/4/1031.full.pdf for the geology.

      I didn’t have much time for searching this time, and most of that was wasted looking for N/S ridges near the west coast of a major landmass. The last of those I checked was Ceylon, which seemed to be the right sort of climate but the wrong sort of coast. Then as I zoomed out to move over to Indonesia (again), I realised tha Andaman Islands might be a possible location. It had to be on a partially sheltered west coast, and the area inside Interview Island seemed to fit the bill.

      Like

  3. That’s it! Part of why my hint was so vague is that the active fold belt running N-S along the west side of the island seemed fairly diagnostic, particularly with the tropical forest and light-colored (?carbonate) sediments. I picked this spot in part because of the nice straight “rivers”.

    For my research on the subject, I was using both an image search (which I think has some maps from the journal Ole mentioned) and this PDF on the hydrology and water resources of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

    Also, Ole, as someone relatively new-ish to WoGE, I’m curious: what observations led you to believe that this was a partially protected coast?

    Like

    1. Oh, that was the easy part. 🙂
      The small islands have what looks like reefs around then, or they could be submerged strand flats lik we have here in Norway. Yet they seem to be erosive remnants of a young fold belt, such as the sharp ridges in the south! Also, the larger flat islands seem uninfluenced by wave action – and there is no direction to the sediments from the “rivers”. Most exposed west coasts are very much wave-dominated; either that or you have a wave-dominated delta. Here there is neither, which made me look for sheltered western coastlines. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.